When in doubt, add chocolate chips

I’m a muffin girl. My basic recipe began as banana bread and over the years it has evolved into a low-fat, no-white-sugar, high-fiber breakfast-in-a-muffin meal. Depending on the ingredients I have on hand, the recipe changes, but it begins with 1-2 cups of frozen ripe bananas, which I seem to always have on hand. If I’m short on bananas, I add some applesauce. One time I substituted left-over sweet potatoes, and they worked fine, too.

NO SUGAR? I use honey and dried fruit such as dates, apricots and even prunes. I chop the dried fruit very fine. These muffins are not overly sweet. Increase the honey for a sweeter muffin.

WHOLE GRAIN? I use whole wheat flour and oatmeal (which I usually put through my coffee grinder to make it fine as flour). I like to add flax seed meal, too. About 1/4 of a cup.

LOW FAT? I usually use 1/2 cup of canola oil, but today I used only 1/4 cup and they turned out great.

CHOCOLATE CHIPS? Why not? I sometimes add raisins, nuts, and coconut.  So why not chocolate chips, too?

Here’s my basic recipe:

JANE’S BEST BANANA MUFFINS
1/2 C canola oil
2 eggs
1 C oatmeal
1 C whole wheat flour
1/2 C honey
1/2 C chopped dates and other dried fruit
3 ripe bananas
1/2 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1 t vanilla
1/2 C walnuts
And, chocolate chips to taste!

Bake at 350F for about 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

