Costa Rica’s Blue River

Image

Some in our group traveled from our hotel in Tamarindo to a volcanic river resort that is appropriately named Blue River Resort. The water is indeed very blue.

Image

I believe this is white ginger. The blossom is much larger than I grow in Florida, but the shape is very similar.

Image

This gorgeous flower is called Torch Ginger, and it is every bit as pretty and red as the photograph.

Image

And, finally, my flavor of the day is ARROZ CON POLLO, or rice with chicken. The cone-shaped presentation was certainly unique, as was the flavor. I’ve had a lot of different versions of rice and chicken–Puerto Rican, Cuban, Costa Rican–but this one served at the Blue River Resort had a very slight ginger flavor. I thought it was a nice change, but Carlos was not impressed. I ordered a Fresca to go with my dinner, but the server brought me a GINGER ALE instead. I’m discovering my transition from one flavor to another each month seems to be somewhat blurred. And that is just part of the fun of writing this blog!

Leave a Reply

