Pineapple Weaponry

Londa from my Singapore days reminded me of a deadly experience I had with a pineapple about 40 years ago, which I share here with you.

I had come home from work especially tired one evening, and remembered this was the day my housekeeper had came. As usual, I had asked her to peel and slice a fresh pineapple. I opened the refrigerator to retrieve one of the large golden disks of tropical fruit. Then I leaned my weary back against the doorway and commenced nibbling around the woody center, savoring each delicious morsel.

Finishing the last bite, I stepped toward the sink to deposit the core in the trash when I caught sight of a Singapore house lizard called a “cicak,” so named for the sound it makes. And there was that little pink reptile crawling up my sparkling clean louvered window.

Without a moment’s hesitation or consideration for my housekeeper’s window-washing efforts, I raised my arm, aimed, and threw the pineapple core toward the cicak. Imagine my surprise when it hit and killed the little fella! Seeing it lying there belly up on the counter, I comforted myself with the thought that at least he had died instantly, never knowing what hit him. That’s how I’d like to go.

Leave a Reply

